Lost

“Ah! You’ve been lost,” he told me, as he removed his sunglasses and took in my face, which he used to see nearly every day. “Where have you been been?”

He is a boda-boda (motorbike) taxi driver, one of a number that park their bikes in Kisementi, a dusty parking lot surrounded by bars, restaurants and shops that I would go to often and from where I would hire a boda since it was close to my house. The minute I roared into Kisementi on a boda my first day back in Uganda, and even though I was cloaked under dark sunglasses, I heard a shout behind me.

“Hey, hey!” I turned around to where a group of my former boda drivers sat on their bikes. I broke into a huge smile, walked over and grasped their hands as we exchanged greetings.

Boda drivers, restaurant waiters and street vendors that I used to know: they all tell me upon seeing me again, “You’ve been lost!” It’s a common phrase in Uganda that is an odd way to describe the disappearance or departure of a friend. Yet it somehow eloquently captures the feeling of losing touch with someone you knew dearly and well.

Lost

One thought on “Lost

  1. “You’ve been lost!” is a common phrase in Uganda.

    I wish i could understand what it means, even it is fairly well explained through the rest of the post.

    Do I dare a remark : “i’m lost, i have been lost, i’ll ever be lost”. It is my weight on this earth. In France we have the poet Francis Cabrel who sings :
    “quand leurs ailes sont mortes /
    les papillons vont où leurs ailes les portent”
    May I translate by :
    Once their wings are dead,
    butterflies let themselves go wherever the wind make them go

Leave a Reply

