Notes on a Weekend

Friday night: I went to a pork joint called Deep Blue in Wandegeya, a neighborhood near Makarere University filled with ramshackle pubs that sell cheap beer and delicious roasted meat and that spill bouncing music out onto the streets. I met up with a good British friend, M, and we caught up over sticks of juicy pork and salted cassava. I ordered my favorite cocktail, a plastic pouch of Uganda waragi — a gin whose homemade concoctions have been known to make people blind — and tonic, and kept absent-mindedly picking at the vegetables left on my plate as M and I talked about women and men and relationships and journalism and African politics.

The plate flipped over and the food landed in my lap. I forgot it soon, though, after more UG tonics and dancing later in Kisementi, a parking lot surrounded by the best (or wildest?) bars in town. I saw more old Ugandan friends, J and J, and stayed out till the mid-morning.

Saturday night: I went to a World Cup party at my friend J’s place. There were Ugandans, a Kenyan, a Brit, Americans and Canadians and we watched the England v. USA game over playful shouts and taunts. The game was a draw. Some people had a ridiculous political debate (it must have been the waragi) and then we had a dance party before I moved on to a new club (there’s always a new club) with an American girlfriend A and Canadian friend B where we danced for longer.

Sunday night: Friends and steak for my birthday celebration. Friends brought friends and I brought my camera. The wait for the food was too long, the time with friends was too short. But then another year passes and we do it all over again.

Leave a Reply

