Roaming the Upper West Side

upperwestside

I walked forty blocks from Columbia University’s Journalism School to a friend’s apartment on the Upper West Side the other day. It took longer than I thought it would, and it became colder than I thought it would get, but I’m obsessed with taking advantage of New York whenever it’s warm by walking as much as I can. On the Upper West Side, the avenues are long and the streets are calm. The apartment buildings tony and majestic, the sidewalks crowded with cafes and bakeries. I feel serene, if not a little bored, in this neighborhood. There’s an older Jewish feeling here, and not too much diversity until you reach the buzzing upper echelons of Harlem. There, I laugh at the street vendors, promise the Senegalese hair-braiding women I’ll come back another time and walk and walk.

Photo by Paul Riley

Roaming the Upper West Side

One thought on “Roaming the Upper West Side

  1. blackwatertown says:

    Good approach. I was walking with a friend round London’s east end last week after dark. It was unexpectedly warm. We walked slowly – a beat police officer’s pace. No rush. Taking in the buildings, the people, the changes. It feels good.
    I like wandering round New York too on the rare opportunities that come my way. Even in November you can sometimes find a small angular patch of sunshiney pavement (sidewalk) on which to sit outside and eat – or on somebody’s steps.

    Like the picture by the way.

Leave a Reply

