Mexican Rap? Yes, Please

ninadioz

OK, I admit I was skeptical, at first. Even after my friend wrote a compelling profile of this appealing blond, blue-eyed rapping Mexican girl from Monterrey, I wondered how good she could really be. I mean, we’re in a country with not exactly a long, storied history of hip-hop, where we’re lucky to hear rap in a club every once in a while.

But that’s changing. Move over, Cypress Hill.

Niña Dioz is good — and interesting, if a bit derivative. But hey, what hip-hop isn’t these days. See for yourself, I love the beats in this song:

Photo by Deanna Dent

Comments 2

Leave a Reply

